Reed Alexander0529.jpg Assistant Director of Utilities

Reed Alexander

(985) 651-6800
1811 W. Airline Hwy., LaPlace LA 70068

Fax: (985) 651-7731
Office Hours: 7:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.

To report water/sewerage problems call: 985-651-6800 (M - T, 7:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. or Friday, 7:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.) or 9-1-1 (after hours) 

Staff Title Ext. Email
Brandon Duhe Wastewater Collection System Manager
Warren Lennix Water Distribution Manager, East Bank
Koi Thompson
 Wastewater Treatment Manager
1240 k.thompson@stjohn-la.gov
Danielle Ford Executive Secretary 1205 d.ford@stjohn-la.gov
Sherida Smith Executive Secretary 1206 s.smith@stjohn-la.gov
Laura Breaux Executive Secretary 4107 l.breaux@stjohn-la.gov


About Utilities

The primary functions of the department are to supply water and waste water services to the citizens, businesses, and industries to the parish and to monitor and repair its water and wastewater distribution systems.. This includes the operation of three water plants, two water wells, and seven wastewater plants.  The water plants are located in LaPlace, Edgard, and Lyons (Reserve). The wells are located at Ruddock with a pumping station ten miles from LaPlace and another booster station located five miles from LaPlace.  The LaPlace system provides 4.6 million gallons per day, the Edgard plant provides 800,000 gallons per day, and the Lyons plant provides 3 million gallons per day. The East Bank of the parish consumes 6.5 million gallons per day while the West Bank consumes 400,000 gal/day.  All water system requires daily monitoring and reporting of results to the Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) and the Office of Public Health (OPH).

There are also three wastewater plants in LaPlace, one in Garyville, and three on the West Bank.  The other prime responsibilities of the department are to repair and monitor its water and wastewater distribution system.

Residents are asked to report any problems with these systems to the Utilities Department at 985-651-6800.